Ubuntu Hour in Bangalore

100_1604
The weather was kinda nice😉

Woo! After a while, the Ubuntu loco community is awakening in Bangalore again.  I had announced a meet up on the mailing list a while back.  I had my fingers crossed as to how many would turn up and how it would be.  Most people assured me “if there are 2 people and the other person isn’t your imaginary friend, its a success!

I’m glad to report that we ended up with 7 people coming in.  It started out a bit slow with just me sitting alone in Cafe Coffee Day on Richmond Road.  To be a little more noticeable I opened up the laptop and sat in such a way I could see everyone who walked in.  Anyone who looked lost was definitely looking for the Ubuntu Hour (note to self:  Sticker on laptop sounds like a good idea now).

100_1599
R to L: Arjuna, me, Ganesh, Harish, Manish, and Venkatesh

Ganesh walked in first followed later by Harish and Arjun almost at the same time.  We sat chatting for some time until I saw noticed another guy looking lost and Manish joined the party.  Later on Venkatesh also joined us giving us more life!

We talked for quite a bit about what we do for a living and what we do for the free software community.  All of the people seem to be contributing in one way or the other and it was fun to hear about what others do.  We packed up at around 5 and walked out to run into a DD, Ritesh, who was planning on making it but got late.

100_1601
R to L: Manish, Ritesh, Harish, Ganesh, and Venkatesh

And we ended up talking for some more time outside the coffe shop.  Meeting geeks is fun!  We’ve plan to meet up every on the last Saturday of every month with announces sent to ubuntu-in and ilug bangalore list.  As soon as the venue for the next one’s confirmed I’ll blog and tweet about it!  Thank you all for coming :)  The pictures are all on my flickr.

10 thoughts on “Ubuntu Hour in Bangalore”

  1. Hi there ! Me, quite a noob in the world of Ubuntu just found your blog and the article about a LoCo meeting in Bangalore. When I visited India in 2002 I spent some times in Bangalore too, which I liked very much. So this article and now years later me and Ubuntu and… back than I had my first e-mail account (rediff !) and now. Anyway.
    I just wanted to say hello.

    All the best for you and all the projects you are working on. See you around !

  2. Quite kool to know that a local Ubuntu meet is held up time to time. Would love to join in…Let me know at my email id. Ya i would join for ilug.

  3. Hi,
    Good to meet with you all. As I read the captions for the photos, I wonder what was the connection between attendees and their names ending with sh. They outnumbered others (myself and nigel) by 5 to 2.🙂

  4. Your meet got featured in the UWN. Nice!
    Are you aware of a Ubuntu LoCo in Mumbai? Would love to attend it.
    And how do you go about adding yourself to a Ubuntu mailing list? (A lot of communication in Ubuntu-land is still done over IRC which freaks outeven a confessed geek like me
    !)

    1. I didn’t know there was a LoCo in Mumbai. Why don’t you have announces on the Ubuntu-in mailing list like we do? That way you get a huge audience to whatever you folks do.

  5. Hi Nigel,

    I got baptized with Ubuntu recently and would love to be a part of any Loco meetings because I am really interested in getting into the developers community. I stay in Bangalore and would love to see if we have an active community here.

    Cheers,
    Vishnu

Leave a Reply

